Home > Uncategorized > What an idea, sirjee! (Updated Nov 19)

What an idea, sirjee! (Updated Nov 19)

EDIT (19-Nov-2011): You didn’t think I forgot, did you? Go there for pics!
Also consider donating here, kind souls! We’re at $95 already, let’s get to $125, yeah?

======================================

EDIT (07-Nov-2011): I’ve created a Picasa album here, please keep checking for new stuff there!

Also consider donating here, kind souls!
And keep reading here, ye folks of good taste.

======================================

A long, long time ago, on April 28, 1987, something momentous happened. I was born. Scrawny little kid, I was. Tiny. Not interested in sports or physical thing. No pent-up angry-young-man style outbursts when I was growing up. Clearly, a very neutral sort of man I was growing up to be.

Or so I thought. Puberty hit, and with it, my Gulti genes came into full effect. Which Gulti superpower did I get, you ask? Look at the photos below:

Exhibit B

What’s really, really common in both the photos? You’ve probably guessed it, I gained the ability to grow a moustache. (I’d give you more photos as proof of Gulti moustache-growing skills, but I’m writing this from the lab and the last thing I want is someone seeing me Googling for photos of moustachioed men by the dozen).

And for a while, I did have a moustache, to the pride of my parents and the clear amusement of many of my friends. Eventually, I decided I did not want such a superpower. I did not know what I was intended to do with it. “Why Me?”, I’d ask as I’d shave every other morning. On cold winter mornings in Delhi, when the choice was to shave with really cold water or to bear the moustache, I’d make the tough choice and shave with the really cold water. Oh, how I have questioned my powers.

But precisely 4 days ago, I found out why I was given this great gift. 4 days ago, when the clock was striking the end of the 31st of October, it was also striking in a new beginning.

The beginning of Movember.

All the info is on the “About” page, but in brief: what is Movember? It’s essentially an annual fundraising movement that tries to raise money for cancer. It does this by having men all over the world to promise one thing: not to shave their moustaches in the month of November, and hopefully the people around them would feel like supporting them for the cause. All the financial details, programs supported, etc. are available on the website for those interested.

And this year, I’m enlisting my whiskers in the fight against cancer. The rules of Movember require me to have a moustache, not a full beard, a moustache – at this I can already imagine my friends going into fits of convulsive laughter. They know how funny the results can be. I’ll wait here until they’re done laughing.

Done?

Okay.

So here’s what I promise you: I will keep posting progress photographs over the month of November, of which there are 25 days left – so plenty of photos to see. You clearly see the future blackmail potential of those photos (Pushkar, Rohan – I’m looking at you.) In the beginning I’ll be keeping a full beard, since I need some time before I can sport a proper moustache – but I promise you this, good sirs and madams, I shall deliver to you a moustache the likes of which have not been seen on the UC San Diego campus.

In return, please consider making a tiny donation. It’s for a good cause, and every little bit counts. If you can’t make a donation yourself, please spread the word! In fact, if nothing else, if all you can do is spread the word to people you think can or want to donate, that’s plenty enough. Some of you undoubtedly have better networks than I do.

If you do want to make a donation, but cannot because you don’t have a way of donating in dollars: let me know how much you feel like donating, and I’ll donate the amount in your name – you can pay me back later or treat me to a dinner or two when you see me next. (My email ID is vivekr101 at gmail dot com, for those interested.)

So that’s the deal people.
What you give: just a small one-time donation.
What you get: so many photos of me. With a moustache. Which you can blackmail me with. For the rest of my life.

I know that in the years to come, some of you will never miss a chance to bring out those photographs and have a good laugh. But I shall still do this.

Why?

Kyonki mooch nahi to kuch nahi.

==================================================

Also, on a side note, I’m trying to do NaNoWriMo this time. I’m off to a slow start, and I’m not sure if I’ll hit the 50,000 word limit, but I’m giving it a shot here. Drop by and take a look! I’m trying to write upwards of a 1000 to 1500 words a day, so there should always be something new whenever you drop by.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 5, 2011 at 6:03 am

    Yay! 😀 finally our blackmailing is yielding some positive results!! Can’t wait to track the mid month progress next weekend! 😀

  2. November 5, 2011 at 8:42 am

    😀

  3. Ishani Ahuja
    November 5, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    😛 I can clearly see the rare telegu spirit rising in u 😛

    but blackmailing is not an incentive for me to donate!!!!!! 😛

  4. sanideos
    November 7, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    Et tu Doc…..Mo bros, we art.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

